Historic Trolley Barn

When Sheffield Safety & Loss Control, LLC decided it was time to expand their business they looked to the western suburbs of Chicago to expand. Realizing the safety service field was more than just consultation services—it now required a brick and mortar location. After an extensive search the decision was made to purchase a condemned 1904 trolley barn located in historic downtown Plainfield. It was critically important to the owners of Sheffield Safety that any restoration activities upheld the historic properties of this unique building and at the same time would provide the residents of Plainfield a space which can be enjoyed for years to come. Due to all the efforts made to preserve the historic nature of the Trolley Barn the project took almost three years to complete. Sheffield Safety’s new space will offer a state-of-the-art training center, sales center, administrative offices, and warehouse. A significant portion of the Trolley Barn will be leased space designed for restaurants, brew pubs, and retail.


“Trolley Barn” Timeline


1901   Joliet Plainfield & Aurora capital fund for a 23 mile interurban system

1902   JP&A inaugurated first streetcar service

1962   Railoc Corporate Offices opened

2014   Building purchased by Sheffield Safety

2015   Construction started with the demolition of the west addition

2016   Facade and exterior renovations finished

2017   Sheffield Safety & Loss Control and Sheffield Supply & Equipment opened its doors